Pecha Kucha Reflection

Standard

For my writing class I had to make a “Pecha Kucha” presentation with a group about the topic Freedom. Then I had to write a reflection piece about my project.

A Walk Through A Slide:
The image I chose for my second slide was a screen shot with a picture of a toddler. He was sitting in the backseat of a car with headphones on watching a screen secured around the driver’s seat headrest. Now I know this isn’t a new technology and that kids have had the privilege of watching movies in the car for quite some time now, but I felt like it summed up everything I wanted to say in my narrative with just that one picture. We literally can’t go to any public place without their being some kind of technology involved. Everywhere we look, people are walking around with their smart phones in front of their faces. I see mom’s out in public, paying no mind to their children because they’re busy looking at their phones.
I quoted Kevin Kelly in his Becoming Screen Literate article and in his opening paragraph he talks about that fact that everywhere he goes, there’s a screen. Whether it’s getting gas at the pump or drawling money out of an ATM, he’s looking at a screen. I chose to cite this text because it was right on target with what I wanted to talk about in my presentation. My group’s topic was freedom and my own personal topic was time constraints and how it’s hard to get away from all of this technology since it’s become a part of our everyday lives.
I saw this slide blending in perfectly with all of my other slides because each dealt with a different point of why technology is a part of each of our lives now. My other slides were about how technology should be blended into the school atmosphere since we won’t be going back to the way things used to be. Kids get bored in school now, so why not make it fun and interesting with the technology they are used to being on the other hours of the day they aren’t in school? If I had a chance to revise this slide, I would not have directly quoted Kevin Kelly in his article. It was definitely too wordy to get out in twenty seconds and I felt like I didn’t get my point across.

 

 

child picture

 

 

 

 

What I Learned About my Blog Topic:
I wasn’t too sure about my group’s topic at first when we picked it. I thought, what am I ever going to have to say about freedom in my blog posts? All I could vision was “freedom of speech” and symbols like the American flag. I definitely didn’t want to be political in my blog posts or have argumentative topics. I am not one to put strongly opinionated ideas out there on the internet, especially since my future employers will be googling my name. I never knew there would be so many articles out there touching on this topic. It wasn’t what I thought it would be and I gained knowledge about many topics by reading blog posts and articles about our freedom, or what little freedom we have, on social media apps. One particular article I found from googling “freedom” was insightful and I even blogged about it. I never knew Twitter could take down a post they didn’t agree with and that iCloud could delete images they didn’t like from your computer. Even when I read articles I didn’t blog about, I was still gaining knowledge about my topic.
The readings for class broaded my knowledge on the topics read in class. It definitely helped having them listed under headings with the years because it put it in perspective where we were in technology at that point. Cynthia Selfe had a lot of great ideas in her writing and put things in different perspectives for me. In Literacy and Technology Linked: The National Project to Expand Technological Literacy, she really goes into detail about integrating technology into the classroom. When she says, “Technological literacy refers to a complex set of socially and culturally situated values, practices, and skills involved in operating linguistically within the context of electronic environments, including reading, writing, and communicating”. (Selfe 11) The children that are in school now and that we will be teaching in the next few short years will be completely surrounded by technology and it will be completely integrated into their lessons by then. We have to keep up on the technology to keep up with our face-paced students. They will think very differently from the way we thought and went about problem solving in schools.

 

child

 

Leave a Reply

